World Snooker Championship 2023 Qualifiers – Draw and Format

World Snooker Championship 2023 Qualifiers - Draw and Format

The qualifying rounds and format for the 2023 Cazoo World Championship have been announced, with a diverse array of snooker players set to compete for the prestigious title. The event will take place from April 3 to 12 at the English Institute of Sport in Sheffield, as 128 players vie for one of 16 coveted spots at the iconic Crucible Theatre.

Find the Cazoo World Snooker Championship 2023 Qualifiers draw here.

Find the Cazoo World Snooker Championship 2023 Qualifiers Format here.

Final Draw

Find details about Final Draw Here.

Among the field are some of the game’s all-time greats, including seven-time champion Stephen Hendry, 1997 Crucible king Ken Doherty, Barry Hawkins, Stephen Maguire, and Jimmy White. They will be joined by up-and-coming talents, such as Hossein Vafaei, Anthony McGill, Marco Fu, Thepchaiya Un-Nooh, and the new World Women’s Champion, Baipat Siripaporn.

The draw for the tournament has been published and includes a mystery player known only as ‘Player 1.’ The identity of this player will be determined by the results of this week’s Duelbits Tour Championship and will be revealed in due course. Hendry’s first-round opponent will be James Cahill, while Doherty will face 12-time World Women’s Champion Reanne Evans.

Stan Moody, winner of the WSF Junior Championship, will play against Andres Petrov, while women’s world number one, Mink Nutcharut, will take on Dechawat Poomjaeng in a Thai derby.

The format for the tournament is structured as follows: in round one, players ranked 81 to 112 will compete against those seeded 113 to 144. Round two will see the 32 winners from the first round face players ranked 49-80. Round three will see the 32 remaining winners play against players ranked 17-48. Finally, round four, known as Judgement Day, will feature the 32 winners from the previous rounds competing against each other. The 16 winners will progress to the Crucible, where the final stages of the championship will be held from April 15 to May 1.

Snooker fans will be able to purchase tickets to watch the qualifying rounds for just £10 per day, providing a unique opportunity to witness a wide range of snooker legends and emerging talents. Spectators can expect to see some enthralling matches as players battle for a place in the sport’s biggest tournament.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *